The Affection Attached to Sanyasi

Standard

These have been taken from Sanyasi or The Ascetic. Look upon these words and ponder.

SANYASI। In this dark cave I am alone, merged in myself, and the eternal night is still, like a mountain lake afraid of its own depth. Water oozes and drips from the cracks, and in the pool float the ancient frogs. I sit chanting the incantation of nothingness. The world’s limits recede, line after line…..I am free, I am the great solitary One. When I was thy slave, O Nature, thou didst set my heart against itself, and madest it carry the Fierce war of suicide through its world. Desires, that have no other ends, but to feel upon themselves and all that comesto their mouths, lashed m into fury. I ran about, madly chasing my shadow………And the hungers, who are thy decoys, ever led me into the endless famine, where food turned into dust, and drink into vapour.

* * * * *

SANYASI।How small is this earth and confined, watched and followed by the persistent horizons. The trees, houses, and crowd of things are pressing upon my eyes. The light, like a cage, has shut out the dark eternity; and the hours hop and cry within its barriers, like prisoned birds. But why are these noisy men rushing on, and for what purpose? They seem always afraid of missing something, the something that never comes to their hands.

* * * * *

FIRST WOMAN।

Good bye, sir. Please judge us from our outside, we won’t mind that. VILLAGE ELDER. Because you have no inside to speak of.

* * * * *

SANYASI।

Shelter? Don’t you know this world is a bottomless chasm? The swarm of creatures, corning out from the hole of nothingness, seeks for shelter, and enters into the gaping mouth of this emptiness, and is lost. These are the ghosts of lies around you, who hold their market of illusions, and the foods which they sell are shadows. They only deceive your hunger, but do not satisfy

* * * * *

SANYASI।

Alas, they do not understand. They cannot see that this world is death spread out to eternity. It dies every moment, yet never comes to the end. -And we, the creatures of this world, live by feeding upon death.

* * * * *

SANYASI।

But stillness is in my soul.

 * * * * *

SANYASI।

No, no, the beautiful is mere phantasy. To him who knows, the dust and the flower are the same. But what languor is this that is creeping into my blood and drawing before my eyes a thin mist veil of all the rainbow colours? Is it nature herself weaving her dreams round me, clouding my senses? (Suddenly he tears the creeper, and rises up.) No more of this; for this is death.

* * * * *

And with these words…my soul fills with an awe once felt before. So we all turn to dust standing in the middle of this road which goes nowhere.

buddha-abanindranath-tagore

SANYASI।

But stillness is in my soul.

Leave a Reply

